It Was Love At First Sight


I was typing an email to a friend the other night when some profound thoughts and feelings started to flow so I decided to share them šŸ™‚

All I know is, being a parent is simultaneously the most difficult and rewarding job ever. It doesn’t matter what he does or how frustrated I get, I just love him so darn much. How can I ever look at that face and want anything different from the world? Will keeps telling me how in awe he is at how I’ve taken to mothering. That makes me feel good but I guess I didn’t doubt myself much on that front. I know I don’t come from the mostĀ nurturingĀ parents but my mom was a good one, and the older I get, the more I appreciate our relationship and let some of the little resentments go. I think back to her reading to me and with me growing up, and that is something so simple like that I look forward to with him. I guess the fact that I’m not very emotional, I’m super impatient, and I’m not really a kid person had him worried. It’s different when it’s your kid. When you’ve carried a person around in your body for nine months, there is a bond that doesn’t make sense and doesn’t have to. I think it’s the only true love at first sight. In addition to that bond, I can’t ever stop thinking how lucky we were. I never thought it would just happen for us. I look at people I know and celebrities going through fertility problems, treatments, and adoption and thinking that for so long that would be my life or my only chance. So when I look at him I feel like no matter the circumstances (unplanned or whatever), he is my little miracle. Then I think of all the things that could have gone wrong because of my diabetes and how he is so healthy and I have to be thankful for that. It’s just too much for me sometimes how lucky we all have been. His name is just too fitting; he’s my little angel. ā¤

Leave a Reply

