Off-Topic: The Cat’s Meow


My poor cats. They are seriously neglected right now. I know it comes with the territory of having a newborn baby but I feel bad for them. They wake up to the sound of a screaming baby and try to sleep through it. I see Hazel look at him with such disdain sometimes but all I can do is feel bad for her. She feels cheated and pushed aside. They want to sleep in our room at night and I used to not feel bad about keeping them out because we were with them so much during the day.Now because our days and night are consumed by the baby, I feel worse. I know if we let them in they would just play and bother us while we sleep; we’ve tried this numerous times in the past. But the guilt is getting to me. They tolerate the baby but I wonder if that tolerance will run out? They smell him and accept his noisy existence but are they plotting against him, waiting for us to leave him unattended so they can strike? I really hope that as Gabriel gets older they all embrace each other. Really, I need them to. I miss my cats and I’m sure they miss the simpler time when they were the center of our attention.

One thought on “Off-Topic: The Cat’s Meow

  1. I understand your dilemma. We have an old dog, two cats and three kids. So I remember the transition and it was hard on everyone. The animals like it quieter and the dog doesn’t like his tail pulled. But, I can say with confidence that it will be ok. It will take time and lots of love but they will all pull together in the end. My son who used to hate dogs, loves our big 90 pound Shepard. Bandit (our dog) has made it his life’s mission to watch over the kids and will not let strangers within 20 feet of them. So good luck with the new baby and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

