Lucky Number 17


Wedding Date: October 17, 2010

Wedding Rings – 10/17/2010

Gabriel’s birthday: March 17, 2012

My boys 3/17/2012

I guess the number 17 is becoming a pretty special one for the Graening family.  It didn’t dawn on me until someone asked me how old my son was. I immediately said six months and realized that he is quickly approaching seven months. When I thought about how long it would be until he was seven months, my mind seemed to blank. How did I forget the 17th was his monthly birthday? I realized that in my mind, the 17th of October was my wedding anniversary, not Gabriel’s seventh month. Then I thought how cute it is that they fall on the same day. I had been thinking lately that seven months is pretty bland. No major doctor’s appointments or milestones like six months and not much going on until nine months. 

But part of me thinks that seven months makes him feel so much older than I’m ready for. He’s becoming less of a baby everyday. I am still blessed with him being relatively immobile for right now. Even him sitting up, babbling, bouncing, holding his own bottle, eating food, and so on means he is one step closer to “growing up.” Isn’t that what all parents dread and look forward to simultaneously? It’s a strange feeling to hope and wish for all these milestones and then mourn the loss of innocence as they achieve them.

Now to the milestone of two years of marriage. That’s something to write home about! My dear husband and I have been through A LOT. More than most of you will ever know. It has seemed from the time we said I do up until now, life’s goal has been to see what challenges it can throw at us, sometimes all at once, to see if we can make it through; challenging our toughness both as individuals and as a couple. To this day, we have survived them all. And to this day, we still love each other, prefer each other’s company, make each other laugh, challenge each other, and look forward to what is ahead – together. It’s a special feeling to know in your hear that you have partner that is there to support you in anything; to know that you are not alone. I think many people, young and old, spend a lot of time and energy looking for that in their lives and I feel blessed to have found it. The biggest thing I’ve learned in our relationship is that all things can be accomplished through communication. The second biggest thing is that what others think is less important than how you feel. Every relationship presents its own challenges and if you spend time worrying about what others think, you will lose focus on what’s really important: your relationship. Family and friends are always a priority, but if you choose to commit yourself to a person for the rest of your life, you owe it to that relationship to make that A, if not THE, priority. There is nothing I love more than being a parent, but I also know that if I am not happy as a wife and if I do not  have a happy husband, all of us will suffer, including my son.

I have a lot to reflect on…the past seven months…the past two years (more if you count pre-marriage) but more importantly, I also have a lot to look forward to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

