Resolved!


Wow, 2012….where do I even begin. To say this was a difficult year would be an understatement. To say that I have grown tremendously as a person would hit the nail right on the head. Here’s a short recap of the highlights and low lights of 2012 for me:

Highs:

  • Becoming a mother for the first time
  • Becoming a student yet again
  • My husband becoming a student yet again
  • Celebrating two years of marriage to my husband
  • A lovely lady from the East visiting us for a week over the summer
  • My husband FINALLY getting approved for disability after YEARS of waiting
  • My son smiling at me for the first time (and pretty much every first he has had since day one)

Lows:

  • My father-in-law passing away
  • My mother having yet another heart attack
  • My husband traveling back and forth between CA and AZ so much (that goes for last year as well)
  • Selling the father-in-law’s house was bitter sweet for us

The list above is just a snapshot of my year but it allows me to reflect on what I am grateful for and what I have to look forward to next year.

The year 2013 is going to be challenging to say the least, but I also plan on making it as rewarding as possible. I will be working full time, going to school full time, possibly doing a part-time internship, being a mommy, and a wife. It’s really hard to find enough hours in the day for all I want to accomplish but I am determined. I have goals. I am resolved to start writing them down and making them happen. There are daily goals, weekly goals, and of course long-terms goals. Here are few goals I have for 2013 and beyond:

  • Find time to regularly exercise
  • Maintain at least a 3.0 GPA in school
  • Get a promotion at work (or at least take on more responsibilities)
  • Figure out what my career path will be
  • Either buy a house or start the process
  • Make my son as happy as possible
  • Continue to work on my marriage
  • Start talking about baby number 2 =)

I absolutely love New Year’s. It is by far my favorite holiday because there is something legitimate to celebrate. The end of a year and the beginning of another. It has no religious or political affiliation. It doesn’t discriminate against age, gender, social status, or sexual orientation. We are all privy to the same passage of time. And we all have to choice to either embrace it or to let it pass without fanfare. Either way, we all recognize the same beginning and the same end.

Happy new year all! So long 2012! Let’s rock 2013!

Leave a Reply

