Reflection


I remember it all so well…one year ago today, I was laying in a hospital room bed, listening to my iPod and anxiously awaiting his arrival…I was unsure of how I would deliver, of what to expect, and most of all, how my life would be forever changed….

My little man will be one year old tomorrow and I’m emotional as all get out. Even reading him a story tonight make me choke up a little because I have been reading him the same book right before bed for almost his entire life. He still loves it. Still gets excited; still kicks and smiles when he sees me reach for it. It’s the one book at always garners the same reaction no matter what: joy.

Those are the little things that I am reflecting on. His first smile, his first real laugh, when he started sitting up on his own, and as only my late-bloomer can accomplish, today when he started crawling forward and pulling himself up. Yep, it brought tears to my eyes instantly because, well, it all seems so fast.

I’m not much for emotions and such, but something about being a mother overwhelms my senses each day. The sight of his smile, the sound of his babbling, the smell of his hair and stinky toes, the taste of his tears…when I think about where we all, my husband included, started on this journey, I can’t help but be in awe. Our little surprise baby that I never thought I’d have. I don’t care how emotionally shut-off you are, carrying another person in your body for nine months changes you. No doubt. I have never experienced anything like it–and I can’t wait to do it again! It’s a bond unlike anythingI have ever known and I can’t even begin to describe how magical it is.

If you know me, you know I’m not much for gushing. But that’s just the effect this little brown baby has on me. And tomorrow, he’ll be my little brown toddler. I can’t turn back time, and heck, I can’t even slow it down, but just having the chance to spend my days and nights with this amazing little boy is all I can ask for.

Our first meeting...

Our first meeting…

One thought on “Reflection

  1. Baby boys are THE BEST (I’ve got a girl too so I get to say so!) and they only get better and more fun every year…enjoy him, he’s gorgeous (a year ago)! 🙂

Leave a Reply

