Mommy Guilt: The Pacifier


image

This pacifier is going to be my ruin. I can’t, for the life of me figure out how to take it away from my son.

He’s only 1 1/2 but many would say that we should have already taken it away. While some give their kids until 3 or 4, possibly sending them off to preschool with a soothie.

I want to just throw them all in the trash. But they are addicting. Not just for Gabriel, but also for us. They are a quick fix. Any sign of fussing is easily defused by it. What can compete with that?! Nothing!

I tell myself every day that I am strong enough to just go cold turkey. Then I see his frantic searching for it. He knows where it is in his diaper bag. He’s a smart cookie.

Then I picture bedtime. It would be like sleep training all over again. Crying and soothing. Back and forth. But no pacifier to help. I picture an endless night of crying.

What’s a mama to do?

8 thoughts on “Mommy Guilt: The Pacifier

  1. We just went cold turkey at 12 months with our daughter. She cried for about 20 minutes in the morning, 20 minutes the first night, and that was pretty much it. At night, we give her a sippy cup in her crib and typically falls asleep without incident. I actually will be blogging about this next week. Good Luck!

    • I guess that is my hard deadline. I would like to try for before that. I am thinking maybe over Thanksgiving or Christmas break when I can give him a few days in a row at home to be fussy without it. I’m trying to be strong!

    • Another fear of mine! What if is just takes up something else. His doctor suggested maybe transitioning him to another item like a blanket but I don’t see how that helps. Just something else for him to be dependent on? Tough choices!

Leave a Reply

