I’m not an addict…


IMG_20140218_074542

Cheers!

To caffeine that is…well, maybe just a little…

When I was a teenager, I had a sweet job at that Department of Justice thanks to my father. While there, I took advantage of all the perks that go along with being an employee for the State of California. Their in-house coffee stand was the bomb. My addiction to their mochas quickly escalated to me drinking double and triple shots, two times per day. I was cracked out. Caffeine truly works for me. After a few months of getting headaches on the weekends from the withdrawal, I decided it was time to end the madness.  I stopped cold turkey and while for the better part of my 20s I did partake in caffeine I vowed to never be addicted again.

Then I became a parent…It is the only thing that makes sense to me how these sleep deprived parents can stay awake (and alive) for at least the first few years of their child’s life. Oh and then multiply that by how many ever children you end up having. So not long after Mr. Gabe was bornI rediscovered my old friend.

The best thing I can say about caffeine is that it truly does work for me. I notice a marked difference in my brain function, mood, job performance, just overall attitude about life after a single-shot mocha, or more often than not, a cup of black breakfast tea (Trader Joes Irish is the best). As I continue my parenting life, my career, and my education, I have found that caffeine is not a necessary evil but powerful ally. Why am I trying to fight it? Yes, it is a drug but so is all the other crap I take to keep myself alive. And if my addiction is garnering positive results, I would be crazy to deny myself.

So I say to you fellow parents, worker bees, students, and just sleepy people in general, embrace the caffeine! It might be just what you need to get your day started!

Leave a Reply

