I See Your True Colors


Howdy everyone! As always, I apologize for my absence, but I am back with some fun information to share. This past week, I spent two days at an academic advising conference hosted by our campus for the entire UC system. It was great to interact with my fellow Davis advisors, as well as meet advisors from other UC campuses. One of my favorite workshops was on the True Colors International personality assessment. I LOVE personality assessments! I know my Myers-Brigg Type (INTJ) and my StrengthsFinders: 1) Futuristic; 2) Input; 3) Learner; 4) Intellection; 5) Analytical.

So when I saw a workshop on the opportunity to be even more introspective and learn about my personality, I jumped on it! Here is what I learned.

Below is the breakdown of the True Colors Model

true_colors

Clearly, only using four colors is going to give a very simplistic view on personality. But I really enjoy this model because, like StrengthsFinders, it focuses on what type of environment you thrive in, what is your best communication style, and what stresses you out. Since this was presented at a professional conference workshop, it definitely focused on how this can effect your work place interactions and happiness. I also see how this can be beneficial in my personal life as well.

So what’s my color?!?! *drum roll* GREEN! And after taking the assessment I can say it was almost a landslide in favor of green. The next closest was gold, then orange but they were only off by one point. Blue was bringing up the rear. One interesting thing I noted was that the majority of the advisors at the workshop were blue (shocker) because I guess helping others falls into their nature. I also feel like each of these colors though can bring something to the advising field. As a green, my analytical way of think, investigation skills, and logic are a benefit to the program coordination part of my job. Also, I feel like my personality pairs well with an academic environment.

In any event, I really enjoyed learning about myself in this way and wanted to share it with all of you. Based on the short descriptions above, what do you think your color is?

 

One thought on “I See Your True Colors

Leave a Reply

