Fitness Challenge: Accepted!


So, I am posting this with the hope it will keep me accountable. I am normally not one to participate in monthly “challenge” events, but something about this particular challenge jumped out at me.

I was browsing Pinterest today and stumbled across a challenge called 30 Miles in 30 Days on the blog, Mother’s Niche. Clearly, the goal is the run 30 miles in 30 days. While the most straight-forward way to complete this challenge would be to do one mile per day, the best thing about this challenge is that instead of saying what I need to do each day, it is giving me a goal for the month, but allowing me to set my own schedule. If for some reason, such as work, school, motherhood, illness, etc., I am unable to get a mile in one day, I can always roll it over to the next day. This built-in contingency might keep me from feeling guilty if life gets in the way of my challenge. Of course, my goal will be to do one mile of walking (running perhaps?) each day.

I was reading an article from Lifehacker the other day about mini habits. How starting off with a very small goal, like one push-up per day (or in this case, walking, running, or swimming one mile per day) can lead to big changes without the pressure of completing a long-term goal weighing on you. I hope that this mindset helps me. That just focusing on way day, one mile, getting moving long enough to accomplish that one daily goal, will help me stay on track.

Wish me luck as I try to stick to this goal. I am hoping the help and motivation of the blog and Instagram participants will keep me going. Starting Monday, I’m off and running! Get it?! 😀

 

123013-lifestyle-woman-exercise-exercising-fitness-working-out-running-health

Leave a Reply

