On the Move…Yet Again…


As some of you may know, my husband and I like to move. When we met, I was living in a crappy little apartment downtown, that I really did love for the most part. Toward the end of our time there, things had started to get ridiculous with a broken air conditioner and a leaky roof to top it off. But overall, I was there for two years. That is a record for me!

Now that we are older, parents, students, etc. moving isn’t so easy. When we rented this place last spring, I really think we wanted it for the long haul. It has its pitfalls, such as the small square footage, the kitchen right next to Gabriel’s room, constant ant attacks, and living above other people’s garages. But I love having a two-car garage, an in-door laundry, close to parks, and a nice housing community.

We’ve known for a few months now that our landlord has been trying to proceed with a short sale. This was information we had to pry from them and also information that has made living here difficult. From bank notices, to random people showing up to tour our house without an appointment or notice, I’ve really been frustrated.

But even with all of the pitfalls and hassle the past few months, I really was hoping they would sell to an investor and that we could stay. It’s not perfect, but what place is? And as a renter, can you expect perfect?

The ironic thing is, as much as I love to move and as often as we do, this was the first place I really wanted to stay. I’ve grown attached to it. Maybe it is my laziness at this time in my life. I just started graduate school, the quarter is just starting at work, and raising a toddler is no easy feat. But maybe it is the memories that we’ve made here the past 18 months. Gabriel started walking here. He started really talking here. He had his first haircut. We’ve hosted Christmas and Thanksgiving here. It’s been our home and we’ve really grown into it. I never thought I would be so attached to a place, but this is yet another thing that parenthood has changed about me.

I wish we were in a place to buy a house. There are so many reasons why we aren’t but those are things that we have to work on and we don’t owe anyone an explanation. It’s our lives and we will figure it out. Would I love to put down roots because we have a child and want to grow our family? Sure. But it’s not the right time for us yet. There are a lot worse things I could be doing as a parent then perpetually renting. Of this, I’m certain.

So we got the news early this week that a deal was on the table for someone who wanted to occupy, and we’ve been on the hunt for a new place since then. Honestly, I would rather cut our losses while we can. The offer looks solid and our lease extension is almost up anyway. Even if we could extend, I don’t know if it would be worth the hassle. We’ve had some good housing prospects so far, so keep your fingers crossed for us.

This is going to be one crazy fall with work, school, moving, and a few weddings thrown in to keep things interesting, but I really hope we are settled by the time the holidays roll around. We’ve never really had a place that was right for entertaining. I’d like the chance to host a holiday party and even Gabriel’s birthday party if we find the right place. Most importantly, I’d like to find a place that will fit our family, maybe give us a little room to grow (in a year or two), and keep up safe and comfy until we’re ready to get our own.

Leave a Reply

