Grad School – Part 2


So, part 1 was applying and getting in.

Part 2 is finishing my first semester and living to tell about it. There are a lot of emotions that go along with this and the sad part is, this is only the beginning of this journey. Three more semesters await me, along with the creation and submission of a thesis or project.

Even with so much more ahead of me, I  feel like I have accomplished something. We started with 25 people in our first cohort meeting. We now have 21 people. I feel accomplished because not only did I stick it out, I did so knowing this was the right choice for be from the beginning. The content, the work, the people: it’s all a good fit for me. This is what I need to grow as a person and an educational leader.

So, what have I learned so far?

First, I’ve learned that busy has a new meaning when you are juggling family, work, and school. Not just school though: graduate school. It is a different level of suffocation. You aren’t just working for the grade, you’re working to learn. You’re applying what you learn personally and professionally. Daily. It’s all encompassing.

Next, I have learned a new kind of patience. Being a parent gave me selective patience. Working in a cohort is teaching me professional patience. The kind I need to be a good leader.

That I’m not an imposter. I deserve all that I work for and all that I have accomplished professionally and educationally. No one can take those things away from me and they are what drive me forward. Those this and my family.

Now, for six weeks off to recoup, renew, and refresh. Oh and organize my life haha. 

Happy holidays to all and to all a good night!

image

The final submission for Fall 2014

One thought on “Grad School – Part 2

Leave a Reply

