In-Depth Thoughts on Frozen…Yes, the movie!


frozen

**Warning for those who have not see the movie. This post contains spoilers about the movie Frozen!**

I’ll admit that little G and I are late to the party on this whole Frozen thing. But I would like a pass on that for a few reasons. The first of which being, though perhaps closed-minded of me, that he’s a boy. We are often dealing with superheroes, trucks, and tools. I will also admit that I am slow to accept new things. I’m often a contrarian and the whole Frozen phenomena really irked me at first.

I won’t bore you with the whole backstory about the original version of the story by Hans Christian Andersen, called The Snow Queen, which was basically dismantled and Disney’d up for kids. The first time we watched it, I was unimpressed. Little G didn’t even sit through it and that was that. We recorded the sing-a-long edition on Starz one day last year and it sat on the DVR for a while.  I watched it over the holiday break, as it seemed like a holiday type-thing to do, and really took time to appreciate for what it is. I’ll admit, it is a Disney movie and sometimes leave a lot to be desired (I’m talking to you Pocahontas and The Princess and the Frog) but some really grab me (Mulan, The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast). 

What Frozen really has going for it is the female lead characters. Unlike other female characters, their strength is evident from the beginning. Elsa is working on herself the entire movie, and doesn’t even worry about any of the relationship stuff. Anna is searching for love an acceptance anywhere, but her real strength shines through in her love for her sister and her perseverance. While Anna’s love for Hans ends up being misguided, she owns her mistake and still puts her sister first. For me, the real twist was the “act of true love” being her saving her sister’s life instead of just kissing one of those dudes she met.

Another thing people might have missed if they weren’t paying attention is that the answer to Elsa’s problem lies with the trolls all along. Now at this point I have to admit I have spent way too much time listening to the soundtrack (thank you Spotify Premium!) and, if pay close attention to the lyrics in Fixer Upper, you’ll notice the solution to this whole eternal winter thing is spelled out! Check it:

We’re not sayin’ you can change him,
‘Cause people don’t really change. 
We’re only saying that love’s a force
That’s powerful and strange.
People make bad choices if they’re mad,
Or scared, or stressed.
Throw a little love their way.

And you’ll bring out their best.

True love brings out the best!
Everyone’s a bit of a fixer-upper,
That’s what it’s all about!

See?! If Anna (or Kristoff for that matter) had been paying better attention to what the trolls were saying, they could have solved this whole debacle much sooner.

I know, I know, I’m a total and complete nerd. But something about this movie, albeit late in the game, really struck a cord with me. I enjoyed seeing a female-driven Disney movie that was centered on a different kind of love story. Sisterly love and feminine strength. Perhaps Elsa powers are a metaphor? I know, I’m reaching here. And thanks to my love affair with the soundtrack, Little G is singing the songs right along with me and we usually watch the movie once over the weekend together. Mother and son bonding time ❤

Leave a Reply

