Change Unseen


Happy July! Our office is about six weeks into our Biggest Loser competition and guess who this week’s big winner was…me! I was essentially the only one who lost. While I’m happy to have lost at all, my progress is slow for sure. Part of me wishes some of the changes were visible as well. I definitely feel a lot more than I see when it comes to my health and fitness.

  • Workouts are getting easier.
  • My daily blood sugars are awesome.
  • My A1C is down 0.6.
  • I’m sleeping better.
  • I need less caffeine.
  • I am more active daily.
  • I’m less stressed out.

All of these changes feel wonderful on the inside, but they have not translated to something I can see in the mirror.

I know this isn’t just a diet. The goal of this is a lifestyle change. We have been doing an amazing job managing our shopping and food. I’m eating lots more fruits and veggies, and managing my night time snacking.

Then the doubt creeps in…is the schedule sustainable? Can I continue these eating habits? What happens when the school year starts? Will I be able to juggle this with my school, work, and family commitment? How do I keep it going?! Oh and, when the hell will I be able to see the fruits of all these changes? Months? Years?

For now, I’m just taking things one day at a time. Trying to keep that doubting voice at bay. I have so much to be proud of, and even more to work toward.

On a side note, it’s my birthday month! Hooray for July! Thirty-wonderful has been quite interesting. I can’t wait to see what…ahem…32 (argh!) has in store. #oldladystatus

Leave a Reply

