I’m feeling 32


Yes, that is a play on a T. Swift song…what about it?

Anyway, so here I am a fresh-faced 32 year old, ready to tackle another year. I will miss thirty-wonderful (31) because it still felt on the cusp of being in my 30s, not being fully immersed. But with each passing year, I will solidify my time here.

One of the wonderful things about moving forward in my 30s is the sense of empowerment I feel over so many aspects of my life. Work, school, marriage, motherhood. Being in my 30s makes me better at these things. Makes me more confident. I’m wiser and contemplative. The things that matter do, and the things that don’t matter don’t. Less apologies. Less acquiesces. Less self-doubt.

I am not saying that life is easy by any means but life experience makes obstacles and challenges more manageable. They seem smaller in the grand scheme of things. Take for instance this blog. I had set a goal for myself at the beginning of the summer to try and update it weekly. That has quickly gone out the window and you know what? That is okay. I don’t need to put any pressure on myself about something that is a hobby. It will happen when it happens.

I am deeply annoyed when people say that I’m still a “baby.” This is a title I am battling with my three-year old. I am by no means a baby. Just because I am younger than some people does not invalidate my life experiences. The way in which I perceive the world and it perceives me is unique and valuable. It has depth and emotion. Rather than condescending when someone is younger than you, congratulate them on how far they’ve made it. You never know what difficulties they might have overcome.

So cheers to each passing year. Each life lesson. Enjoy the ride. Cherish the good times and learn from the bad. Most importantly, spend times with the ones you love AND doing what you love.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

