Less Than Classically Beautiful


The title of this post is a quote from an article written about Viola Davis, by a writer who viewed her age, skin tone, and hair as “less than classically beautiful.” For some reason, these words inspire me to challenge traditional beauty standards regularly now.

We finished watching the Emmys the other day and I spent the weekend transitioning to my natural hair.

I actually find this timing fortuitous. Watching one of the most diverse awards shows in years, and also watching Viola Davis rock her natural hair gave me a much-needed boost.

I have spent 7 years hiding my natural hair, either with braids or weaves. I’ve spent even more years trying to change the texture of my hair.

It wasn’t until last year when my son’s hair really started to curl and kink that I realized he got more of my hair than his father’s. I also realized that because I’ve spent so many years changing or hiding my hair, I had no idea what to do with my hair, much less his. I’ve been trying products and doing research. But I realized that I needed to be apart of this process. Not only will he benefit from this, but so will I.

If you have been following my blog for the last year, you’ll know that on not one but two occasions, I promised myself (and my readers) that in 2015, I would go #teamnatural. While I realize that it is almost October, I’m here to say I’ve done it. I dove in with both feet this past weekend. I took my hair out on Friday night and went to the salon on Saturday to give my locks some TLC after years of hiding away.

I’m still getting used to it. Still deciding how I want to navigate this new realm. I’m actually kind of excited about the freedom I feel.

Not only will this natural hair journey be beneficial for me to learn what my hair is like, it will also be beneficial for my son. I can make better choices about his hair and I can also inspire him to embrace his natural hair texture as well. We will most likely give his hair a buzz in the near future, but I think it is important for him to see my natural hair so he can decide when he is older what is best for him.

image

Here's me!

Leave a Reply

