Product Review: SheaMoisture African Black Soap Acne Care Kit


shea_box

I recently invested in SheaMoisture’s African Black Soap Acne Care Kit. I don’t think I’ve ever done a product review before, so here goes.

I have struggled with my face for years and have been on the hunt for a solution for months. I had been using Proactiv for years, but honestly the cost really got to me. Additionally, I’ve read reviews about your skin getting “addicted” to the chemicals in their products. Looking for a cost savings and a more natural solution to my skin care has led me to try several different products available in stores. I’ve had a hard time finding a good balance. I’m either finding products that are too harsh and drying (Neutrogena Naturals), not strong enough (Neutrogena Pore Minimizing Scrub), or caused me to breakout (Benefit Skincare). So the search continued.

I used coconut oil for a while, but I think in summer it was a bit too much oil for my skin. Definitely hydrating but not enough cleansing. It is still a go-to for makeup removal and pretty much eveyrthing else in my life, but it can’t be a my everyday facial cleanser.

So now I’m about a month into using Shea Moisture’s African Black Soap for problem skin.

Here's a picture of what you get in the box

Here’s a picture of what you get in the box

The facial mask comes in the smallest jar and smells a bit like bubble gum. It is meant to be used on clean skin once or twice per week. I think of all of the products in the box, it is the least effective. I use it maybe once per week but haven’t really noticed any benefits after use. Rating? 2 out of 5.

The problem skin facial wash & scrub is meant to be used once or twice per week as well. I like this scrub a lot.Smells a bit like tea tree oil, but it is not overwhelming.  It makes my face feel super clean and refreshed. It has little cleansing beads (hopefully the kind that are about the be banned in Cali). The work get exfoliate well. Rating? 4 out of 5.

Next up is the balancing moisturizer. This product smells heavily like tea tree oil. I want so badly to love it but it is just okay. It does moisturize but not the way I would like. It absorbs fast, but my face doesn’t feel hydrated the way I would like. I want…more moisture! I want my face to feel refreshed! Unfortunately, this moisturizer falls a bit short. Rating? 3 out of 5.

Finally, the star of the skin care line is the African black soap bar. I love the smell (light shea butter) and the feel of this bar. It is mild and cleansing and doesn’t leave my skin too dry after I’m done. This is by far the best product in the box and the one I would definitely buy again. Another thing that was noted by reviewers was that it also has the least ingredients of all the products in this kit. It’s the most natural and it shows in the way it cleanses and feels. Rating? 5 out of 5.

I like this kit a lot. It was definitely worth the price point. The soap bar is the best and the must-have in this kit but the other products hold up well. For the price, I think this kit does a good job of keeping my skin clean, moisturized, and break-out free. It’s not perfect, but I feel like it is a good investment if you want an inexpensive way to fight acne. The bar by itself is a bargain price and if paired with the right moisturizer, it would be unstoppable.

Have any thoughts on this product kit or other Shea Moisture products? Any other suggestions for skin care? Post your comments below! Until next time!

One thought on “Product Review: SheaMoisture African Black Soap Acne Care Kit

Leave a Reply

