The Next Best Thing!


Drum roll please….

Apple cider vinegar! Holy mother!

If you know anything about apple cider vinegar, you’ll enjoy that little joke šŸ˜‰

My next adventure into natural health is apple cider vinegar. As I’ve been exploring hair and beauty solutions, I noticed that apple cider vinegar kept making an appearance. I decided to do some research.

The list of health uses for this stuff seems endless! I am truly impressed and excited to add it to my hair and beauty routines. Check it out for yourself:Ā http://www.rd.com/health/wellness/apple-cider-vinegar-benefits/

It is important to use organic, raw, unfilteredĀ apple cider vinegar that contains the “mother” for maximum benefits.

Here are my planned uses:

Hair rinse: Most of the products we use on our hair have a strong alkaline base. Using apple cider vinegar can help balance the pH and seal the cuticles, which means better moisture retention and porosity. I’ll be making a homemade rinse to use after shampooing or co-washing. I sourced my information from a few places but found this site most helpful:Ā http://coconutsandkettlebells.com/apple-cider-vinegar-hair-rinse/

Facial toner: I have yet to find the right combination of natural ingredients to work on my skin, but it is a work in progress. I’m still using Shea Moisture’s African Black Soap and moisturizer (after a brief diversion to Castille soap, but more on that in another post perhaps). It works okay, but I can’t really keep the breakouts at bay. So, I plan to add an all-natural toner to my regimen using apple cider vinegar. This article from Mind Body Green was my inspiration:Ā http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-13304/how-i-cured-my-acne-with-apple-cider-vinegar.html

Blood sugar regulation: This particular use I find most intriguing. I’ve never heard anything from the medical community that supports this. But this would hurt business for the pharmaceutical companies, now wouldn’t it? I’ve only read anecdotal stories and reports online of apple cider vinegar reducing daily blood sugar with regular consumption. What I have read has all be in favor of at least a small dosage of apple cider vinegar before bed. All of this information has lead me to say, “what harm could it do?!” Here are a few links supporting apple cider vinegar’s benefits in helping blood sugar:

http://care.diabetesjournals.org/content/30/11/2814.full

http://www.diabetesselfmanagement.com/blog/apple-cider-vinegar-and-diabetes/

http://www.healthline.com/health/type-2-diabetes/apple-cider-vinegar#Overview1

Have you heard of or tried anything beneficial with apple cider vinegar?

apple_cider_vinegar

Leave a Reply

